Skills and degree of success.

Ley Line walkers, Juicers, Coalition Troops, Samas, Tolkeen, & The Federation Of Magic. Come together here to discuss all things Rifts®.

Moderators: Immortals, Supreme Beings, Old Ones

Tirisilex
Megaversal® Ambassador

Skills and degree of success.

Unread post by Tirisilex »

I've had a problem with the RIFTS skill system. It's a Yes or No score. Either you succeed or you don't. I found this kind of Dry. So I came up with a Degree of success chart. It's my first attempt and it might be a little "buggy" but feel free to fix or modify this idea.

When you roll for a skill check you take the number rolled and subtract it from the skill level this gives you the degree of success. For example.. You have a skill of 40% you roll 25 on a d100 the degree of success would be 15.

.........................Time spent operating in Minutes
Degree of success...15......30.....45......60
1 - 20....................5%....10%...15%...20%
21 - 40.................20%....25%...30%...35%
41 - 60.................40%....45%...50%...55%
61 - 80.................60%....65%...70%...75%
81 - 100................80%....85%...90%..100%

The percent value indicates how much has been completed in the deisgnated time spent working. So if you were working for 60 Minutes and get a degree of 22 you would have accomplished 35% of your goal. Be it building a Radio.. Cybernetic Surgery.. Repairing a Tank.
If you are using tools you get a +10 to degree of success
If you have Parts (Mechanical, Artificial organs, Transplants, etc..) is a +15 to degree.
If your in a shop +20 to degree

Like I said this is my first version of this idea and would welcome others opinions and suggestions.
popscythe
Adventurer
Comment: Mecha-sized flamethrowers, dudes! *woooooosh* :heart:

Re: Skills and degree of success.

Unread post by popscythe »

That's a cool way of doing it, that's gotta be a lot of fun in your game! I bet your players love it.