Board index » Across the Megaverse® » G.M.s Forum

 


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:55 pm
  

User avatar
Explorer

Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 12:28 am
Posts: 123
Location: Travelling West
A simple question, but I'd like to have the powers that be weigh in on it before I bring it to my GM.

When playing a nonhuman race/D-bee, can stat pre-requisites for O.C.C.s preclude a race from selecting it if the pre-requisite is higher than the max possible stat for the race?

For example, a Changeling on Rifts Earth wants to become a Lord Magus in service of Dweomer. Lord Magus' have a minimum P.E. requisite of 13, but the Changeling rolls only 2d6 for his/her P.E. stat. Can the changeling become a lord magus if he rolled the max possible (12) on the 2d6 and took skills to boost his P.E. stat over 13 after O.C.C. selection, or is the Changeling barred from ever becoming a Lord Magus?

This presumes that nonhumans do NOT enjoy the exceptional rolls that humans do during character creation. That has become the standard ruleset used by my GMs as of late.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 7:03 pm
  

User avatar
Priest

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 2:01 am
Posts: 28336
Location: In the ocean, punching oncoming waves
Comment: "Your Eloquence with a sledge hammer is a beautiful thing..." -Zer0 Kay
Cirlot wrote:
A simple question, but I'd like to have the powers that be weigh in on it before I bring it to my GM.

When playing a nonhuman race/D-bee, can stat pre-requisites for O.C.C.s preclude a race from selecting it if the pre-requisite is higher than the max possible stat for the race?

For example, a Changeling on Rifts Earth wants to become a Lord Magus in service of Dweomer. Lord Magus' have a minimum P.E. requisite of 13, but the Changeling rolls only 2d6 for his/her P.E. stat. Can the changeling become a lord magus if he rolled the max possible (12) on the 2d6 and took skills to boost his P.E. stat over 13 after O.C.C. selection, or is the Changeling barred from ever becoming a Lord Magus?

This presumes that nonhumans do NOT enjoy the exceptional rolls that humans do during character creation. That has become the standard ruleset used by my GMs as of late.


IIRC, if you roll 2d6 for an attribute, and you roll a 12, then you get another d6 to add into things.

Other than that, the best you could do is to have your Changeling start off as a different OCC, build up his PE through skills, then switch OCCs to the Lord Magus.

_________________
Annual Best Poster of the Year Awards (2012)

"That rifle on the wall of the laborer's cottage or working class flat is the symbol of democracy. It is our job to see that it stays there." -George Orwell

Check out my Author Page on Amazon!


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 9:51 pm
  

User avatar
Monk

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 7:22 pm
Posts: 15366
Location: 2nd Degree Black Belt of Post Fu
Comment: The Munchkin Fairy
Cirlot wrote:
A simple question, but I'd like to have the powers that be weigh in on it before I bring it to my GM.

When playing a nonhuman race/D-bee, can stat pre-requisites for O.C.C.s preclude a race from selecting it if the pre-requisite is higher than the max possible stat for the race?

For example, a Changeling on Rifts Earth wants to become a Lord Magus in service of Dweomer. Lord Magus' have a minimum P.E. requisite of 13, but the Changeling rolls only 2d6 for his/her P.E. stat. Can the changeling become a lord magus if he rolled the max possible (12) on the 2d6 and took skills to boost his P.E. stat over 13 after O.C.C. selection, or is the Changeling barred from ever becoming a Lord Magus?

This presumes that nonhumans do NOT enjoy the exceptional rolls that humans do during character creation. That has become the standard ruleset used by my GMs as of late.


Yes, I would allow skills as such.


but yes: this may also mean that some D-bees are simply incapable of ever taking certain OCC's.

_________________
Sometimes, you're like a beacon of light in the darkness, giving me some hope for humankind. ~ Killer Cyborg

You can have something done good, fast and cheap. If you want it done good and fast, it's not going to be cheap. If you want it done fast and cheap it won't be good. If you want something done good and cheap it won't be done fast. ~ Dark Brandon


          Top  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 12:15 am
  

User avatar
Dungeon Crawler

Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 11:08 am
Posts: 367
Yeah I'd say it would preclude the 'average' and even a number of exceptional members of that race from ever taking OCC X.

But you do get that extra d6 roll. The only time it's been stated that you do NOT get that extra d6 on a max roll is if the attribute in question gets a bonus to it.

IE: 3d6+2 would not, by the rules get an extra d6 on 16-18. Personally I allow it anyway but thats me.

Other than that they get the extra dice roll regardless of how many dice are in the base attribute. The only thing that changes is the roll required for the bonus die roll.

Going by the logic at least on a 2d6 attribute you'd get an extra 1d6 on a roll of 10-12. On a 4d6 attribute you'd get an extra d6 on a 22-24 etc. In the end it's entirely up to the GM really.


          Top  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:47 pm
  

User avatar
Knight

Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:12 am
Posts: 4435
Location: Pits of Dyval
yes a 2D6 does get an extra D6 if the role is a 12
i personally alow allattributes to get a bonus die as long as it is 2D6 or higher even if it is a 4D6+2 which by regular rules would not allow.
if a pc wants to be a class and he cant becouse he missed the attribute requirement by ascant 2 or 3 i would allow it and pump the needed attribute to its barest minimum.
if a changeling wanted to be a class that required a PE of 13. there would be changlings in that class. however, they would make up less than 1% of that class. they would have to get physical skills or role a 12 to play it. a roll of 12 on a 2D6 comes up less than 8% of the time.
if the race cannot reach the attribute requirement at all then i would not allow it. as it would be impossile for the species to do so.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:49 pm
  

User avatar
Champion

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 3:03 pm
Posts: 2818
Location: Oshawa, Ontario. Canada
Comment: Role playing is not my hobby, it is my lifestyle.
Cirlot wrote:
A simple question, but I'd like to have the powers that be weigh in on it before I bring it to my GM.

When playing a nonhuman race/D-bee, can stat pre-requisites for O.C.C.s preclude a race from selecting it if the pre-requisite is higher than the max possible stat for the race?


Yes definatly, which is wy humans do have an advantage over many races they have no inherient weaknesses or limitations.

_________________
Sureshot wrote:
Listen you young whippersnappers in my day we had to walk for 15 no 30 miles to the nearest game barefoot both ways. We had real books not PDFS and we carried them on carts we pulled ourselves that we built by hand. We had Thaco and we were happy. If we needed dice we carved ours out of wood. Petrified wood just because we could.


          Top  
 
 
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group