Board index » MDC Worlds » Robotech RPG Tactics™

 


Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 4:39 pm
  

D-Bee

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:31 pm
Posts: 36
Are special characters considered a part of a squadron? If so, can special characters benefit from Built-In Upgrades purchased for the unit they are a member of? Can a Built-in Upgrade modify a characters stats (like Veteran for a Regult unit)? Can a character's mecha receive a support card like a Command Destroid Upgrade?


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 4:59 pm
  

User avatar
Megaversal® Ambassador

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 1:33 pm
Posts: 69
I would say yes in all cases as the character changes the pilot and upgrades change the mecha.

_________________
RPGandTactics.blogspot.com
https://www.facebook.com/RobotechRPGTacticsSoCal


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 5:49 pm
  

User avatar
Megaversal® Ambassador Coordinator

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 9:00 am
Posts: 413
Location: Chesterton, IN
Comment: Pirate Wisdom:
Rum is a journey, and a destination.
I'll put my opinion out there for this: (please put further rules questions in the NEW rules section of the Forum. This may get moved.)

Very Fun One Jr wrote:
Are special characters considered a part of a squadron?


Yes, just as Support cards are "added" to the squadron, Specials Characters are as well. A Special Character is added to one of the Mecha already in the squadron, and doesn't add an additional mecha. This makes the Special Characters seperate from Special Support cards, as you can have (and in some cases HAVE to have) a Special Support Card with a Special Character, i.e. Roy Fokker.

Very Fun One Jr wrote:
If so, can special characters benefit from Built-In Upgrades purchased for the unit they are a member of? Can a Built-in Upgrade modify a characters stats (like Veteran for a Regult unit)?


Yes, as the current two characters for the regult have no stat modifications of their own, just special abilities, I don't see a problem with the vet upgrade affecting the special character.

Very Fun One Jr wrote:
Can a character's mecha receive a support card like a Command Destroid Upgrade?


This one is much harder to see possible issues. The only two special characters this would effect are Rick and Dietrich, since those are the only two that have the ability to pilot a destroid and have skill bonuses. The way I see it is that the Command Destroid Upgrade is a hardware upgrade, not a personnel upgrade. This is bolstered by the actual mini and part for the Command Upgrade. Without putting additional exceptions in the game about who can and can't use the Upgrade, its seems to be an easy call to say 'Yes, you can add a Command Destroid Upgrade to a character'.

Anybody seeing something I am missing?

_________________
Image
I'll still enjoy watching you get blown off the table while you stare in helpless wonder at Phaze's marching legions of colored perfection. -- Godsgopher


          Top  
 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group