No Love For Base Classes...

Ley Line walkers, Juicers, Coalition Troops, Samas, Tolkeen, & The Federation Of Magic. Come together here to discuss all things Rifts®.

Moderators: Immortals, Supreme Beings, Old Ones

HWalsh
Hero

No Love For Base Classes...

Unread post by HWalsh »

This just strikes me as odd...

There are some truly great base OCCs in Rifts, yet even new players seem to hate them. I don't see why.

I've been playing Rifts since like 1997. I guess I got all the funkiness out of my system. I don't know.

Why do I need a Temporal Wizard when a Ley Line Walker is perfectly fine? What's wrong with a Glitterboy pilot? Why do you need a Knight of the White Rose when you can play a Cyber-Knight, or maybe s True Atlantean Undead Slayer (albeit that isn't a base class, but I've only been in 3 games in 22 years that didn't have one). Why are Bursters and Mind Melters so avoided? Even a Vagabond can be s blast.

So what's the deal? Are base classes just hated? I do not understand.
Dustin Fireblade
Knight

Re: No Love For Base Classes...

Unread post by Dustin Fireblade »

Hmm don't know. Never encountered that problem really. Just to double check though are you equating base class to what is in RUE/RMB?
torjones
Dungeon Crawler

Unread post by torjones »

HWalsh wrote:So what's the deal? Are base classes just hated? I do not understand.