Board index » Across the Megaverse® » G.M.s Forum

 


Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 11:09 am
  

User avatar
Adventurer

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2000 2:01 am
Posts: 737
I have got into with this guy on another forum. he keeps telling me that you can't call critical strikes even though the HU book clearly says any type of flying attack is a critical strike and gets triple damage if you roll a 20.

If you can't call a strike, then why is it listed that any leap attack does critical damage? I'm breaking the book down and going over it. I'm pretty sure that if you can't call a critical or a knockout, they wouldn't give you the damage potential in the roll a damage section of the combat rules.

I mean right under the boxing listing it says you can call for a KO in a fight. So why wouldn't you be able to call for a knee to the face? i don't get where this guy is coming from and he will not let it go.

Just had to vent because it's driving me crazy
CES

_________________
Syphrett's Tales

My Amazon Page


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 11:59 am
  

User avatar
Palladin

Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 8:33 pm
Posts: 10356
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Comment: Yeah yeah yeah just give me my damn XP already :)
You are both right.

As I understand it you have to declare the attempt for a ko but stil have roll accordingly.
As for leap attack it does double damage only but you still have to hit unlike a natural 20 which is both a critical hit and and automatic success.

_________________
I am very opinionated. Yes I rub people the wrong way but at the end of the day I just enjoy good hard discussion and will gladly walk away agreeing to not agree :D

Email - jlaflamme7521@hotmail.com, Facebook - Jaymz LaFlamme, Robotech.com - Icerzone

\m/


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:55 pm
  

User avatar
Demon Lord Extraordinaire

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 3:28 pm
Posts: 6218
Location: Apocrypha
Comment: You probably think this comment is about you, don't you?
csyphrett wrote:
I have got into with this guy on another forum. he keeps telling me that you can't call critical strikes even though the HU book clearly says any type of flying attack is a critical strike and gets triple damage if you roll a 20.

If you can't call a strike, then why is it listed that any leap attack does critical damage? I'm breaking the book down and going over it. I'm pretty sure that if you can't call a critical or a knockout, they wouldn't give you the damage potential in the roll a damage section of the combat rules.

I mean right under the boxing listing it says you can call for a KO in a fight. So why wouldn't you be able to call for a knee to the face? i don't get where this guy is coming from and he will not let it go.

Just had to vent because it's driving me crazy
CES


I'm confused as to what you're asking. Are you asking if you can do called shots in melee, or are you asking if you can declare a strike is critical when you go to roll it?

jaymz wrote:
You are both right.

As I understand it you have to declare the attempt for a ko but stil have roll accordingly.
As for leap attack it does double damage only but you still have to hit unlike a natural 20 which is both a critical hit and and automatic success.


Point of correction: Natural 20 is not an automatic success because the defender's still allowed to make a parry/dodge attempt. Granted it's a 1 in 20 chance they'll be successful in their attempt in defending, but the mere fact that their chances are more than zero means the attacker's attempt isn't automatically successful.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2019 1:15 am
  

User avatar
Adventurer

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2000 2:01 am
Posts: 737
Thanks guys. I'm just venting because I don't want to violate the board rules and just snap. This guy has plain out stated that you cannot call a critical strike at all. You can only get a critical if you roll a natural number.

So basically any move like Tony Jaa's flying knee, Goldberg's spear, or Walker's flying roundhouse aren't really criticals and can't be called.
CES

_________________
Syphrett's Tales

My Amazon Page


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2019 3:05 am
  

User avatar
Demon Lord Extraordinaire

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 3:28 pm
Posts: 6218
Location: Apocrypha
Comment: You probably think this comment is about you, don't you?
csyphrett wrote:
Thanks guys. I'm just venting because I don't want to violate the board rules and just snap. This guy has plain out stated that you cannot call a critical strike at all. You can only get a critical if you roll a natural number.

So basically any move like Tony Jaa's flying knee, Goldberg's spear, or Walker's flying roundhouse aren't really criticals and can't be called.
CES


Okay, that clarifies things.

Your GM is correct, you can't call that your attack is a critical strike. It has to be the (usually natural) number required by your HtH form. However, if you have a special move (like Goldberg's spear) and the result of that move is a critical strike, you can announce that you're doing that move before rolling the die.

So using Ninjas and Superspies as the source for the following examples:

The Ninja HtH form (page 99) gives the Dedicated Martial Artist Critical Strike on Natural 18 or better at level 8. This means from that level on the DMA will always do a critical strike with zero need to announce it beforehand as long as the natural roll of the d20 is 18, 19, or 20 (barring the defender defending or the DMA wanting to do a pulled punch of course).

However that HtH form starts with the Leap Attack as a special attack. That means a first level DMA with Ninjitsu can start off their melee with a leap attack (this special move must be done as the first attack of the round) and they will do a critical strike if successful. The player just has to announce the move as his first attack that round before rolling their die, and be willing to sacrifice the rest of their attacks for that round (since that attack uses all available attacks/actions that round).


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2019 3:08 am
  

User avatar
Demon Lord Extraordinaire

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 3:28 pm
Posts: 6218
Location: Apocrypha
Comment: You probably think this comment is about you, don't you?
Oh, important note. The above only applies if your GM is playing RAW. If he has some sort of house rule going on then you both need to work that out between the two of you, and your GM's a donkeyclown for not point out his house rules sooner.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 6:26 am
  

User avatar
Adventurer

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2000 2:01 am
Posts: 737
The Beast wrote:
csyphrett wrote:
Thanks guys. I'm just venting because I don't want to violate the board rules and just snap. This guy has plain out stated that you cannot call a critical strike at all. You can only get a critical if you roll a natural number.

So basically any move like Tony Jaa's flying knee, Goldberg's spear, or Walker's flying roundhouse aren't really criticals and can't be called.
CES


Okay, that clarifies things.

Your GM is correct, you can't call that your attack is a critical strike. It has to be the (usually natural) number required by your HtH form. However, if you have a special move (like Goldberg's spear) and the result of that move is a critical strike, you can announce that you're doing that move before rolling the die.

So using Ninjas and Superspies as the source for the following examples:

The Ninja HtH form (page 99) gives the Dedicated Martial Artist Critical Strike on Natural 18 or better at level 8. This means from that level on the DMA will always do a critical strike with zero need to announce it beforehand as long as the natural roll of the d20 is 18, 19, or 20 (barring the defender defending or the DMA wanting to do a pulled punch of course).

However that HtH form starts with the Leap Attack as a special attack. That means a first level DMA with Ninjitsu can start off their melee with a leap attack (this special move must be done as the first attack of the round) and they will do a critical strike if successful. The player just has to announce the move as his first attack that round before rolling their die, and be willing to sacrifice the rest of their attacks for that round (since that attack uses all available attacks/actions that round).


He's not my gm. He's a random guy on the internet that takes the position you can't call leap attacks, or any other critical hit, knock out, death blow. Two other guys came on the thread and told him quit confusing natural critical strikes with special move critical strikes.
CES

_________________
Syphrett's Tales

My Amazon Page


          Top  
 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group