Board index » Across the Megaverse® » G.M.s Forum

 


Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 9:42 pm
  

User avatar
Republican

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 10:34 pm
Posts: 1483
Location: Sacramento, CA
Comment: We are the hope for the future and we will not fail in that duty.
Fellow Game Masters,

If a creature can turn invisible at will, does the invisibility stay active if the creature enters combat? What is your ruling and why?

My gut says "no" and I really like the explanation of how that scenario works (and what bonuses/advantage is imparted) in the case of the Shock Dragons in the Dyval dimension book. If you're familiar with that entry, do you apply it to all creatures with natural invisibility (not to be confused with being naturally invisible) or just the Shock Dragons? Why or why not?

I'm interested in hearing your thoughts!

_________________
"He who commands the kitchen commands the ship." -C. Magewind, Ley Line Rifter and self proclaimed "Best Cook in the Three Galaxies"

"The question is not why the mechanoids kill the humanoids, but only why nobody did it sooner." -Killer Cyborg


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:13 am
  

User avatar
Monk

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 15022
Location: Eastvale, calif
Some where in a Q&A text it says that for those that can turn invisible as a natural ability it is equivalent to the invisibility Simple spell.

No I don't remember which Q&A text.

_________________
Q's on this board need canon answers first for the question that was asked. Then you can post your own house rules listed as your house rules.
I say what the classes ARE even if the books mislabel them, so get over it.

Mostly I write out exactly what I mean, then sometimes get even more finicky.

My Artwork


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:47 am
  

User avatar
Megaversal® Ambassador

Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 2:25 pm
Posts: 1648
Location: Reno, Nevada
I recall seeing that somewhere as well. I think it was in the first Conversion Book.

_________________
Contact me if you're looking for games in Reno, Nevada.
Resources


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 4:31 pm
  

User avatar
Republican

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 10:34 pm
Posts: 1483
Location: Sacramento, CA
Comment: We are the hope for the future and we will not fail in that duty.
Bill wrote:
I recall seeing that somewhere as well. I think it was in the first Conversion Book.


Thanks, I took a look and wasn't able to find anything. It's probably in the BoM somewhere.

_________________
"He who commands the kitchen commands the ship." -C. Magewind, Ley Line Rifter and self proclaimed "Best Cook in the Three Galaxies"

"The question is not why the mechanoids kill the humanoids, but only why nobody did it sooner." -Killer Cyborg


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:53 pm
  

User avatar
Monk

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 7:22 pm
Posts: 15366
Location: 2nd Degree Black Belt of Post Fu
Comment: The Munchkin Fairy
Yes, they stay invisible during combat, making attacks against them at -8.

Yes, such creatures are naturally scarey.

However in rifts it's midigated somewhat by thermal-optics being so common and turn invisible at will does not protect against that.

_________________
Sometimes, you're like a beacon of light in the darkness, giving me some hope for humankind. ~ Killer Cyborg

You can have something done good, fast and cheap. If you want it done good and fast, it's not going to be cheap. If you want it done fast and cheap it won't be good. If you want something done good and cheap it won't be done fast. ~ Dark Brandon


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 7:00 pm
  

User avatar
Megaversal® Ambassador

Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 2:25 pm
Posts: 1648
Location: Reno, Nevada
And see the invisible is a fairly common ability as well. It can be had as an amulet too, if such things aren't rare in your campaign.

And the note regarding natural invisibility being Invisibility: Simple appears on the spell, RUE, p203.

_________________
Contact me if you're looking for games in Reno, Nevada.
Resources


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 10:22 pm
  

User avatar
Wanderer

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:33 pm
Posts: 98
Has there ever been any more official clarification on this spell as far as RUE is concerned? In the first print run (which is what I have), superior specifically states it is terminated if you enter combat. Inferior states specifically that neither inferior or superior is terminated.

_________________
"First comes smiles, then lies. Last is gunfire."
-Roland Deschain, of Gilead The Dark Tower


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 10:46 am
  

User avatar
Champion

Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 7:48 pm
Posts: 2485
Location: Boise, ID (US)
Voodoolaw wrote:
Has there ever been any more official clarification on this spell as far as RUE is concerned? In the first print run (which is what I have), superior specifically states it is terminated if you enter combat. Inferior states specifically that neither inferior or superior is terminated.

Greetings and Salutations. They fixed that by my Third Printing. You can also find this in the Errata found on the Cutting Room Floor. Providing a link is problematic while I'm on my phone, but if you have trouble I can provide a link and exact page number in the errata where it appears later. Farewell and safe journeys.

_________________
Living the Fantasy (fan website)

Rifter #45; Of Bows & Arrows (Archery; expanding rules and abilities)
Rifter #52; From Ruins to Runes (Living Rune Weapons; playable characters and NPC)
Rifter #55; Home Away From Home (Quorian Culture; expanded from PF Book 9: Baalgor Wastelands)

Official PDF versions of Rifter #45, #52, and #55 can be found at DriveThruRPG.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 10:58 pm
  

User avatar
Champion

Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 8:42 pm
Posts: 2186
Location: The Accordlands
PG 203 RUE Under the Spell: Invisibility: Simple. Has the Note: Beings that turn invisible as a natural and/or magical ability have Simple Invisibility not Superior, and may be heard, smelled, register on motion detectors, etc. Aggressive action (including combat) will not terminate an Invisibility: Simple spell. Characters who can see the invisible see both Simple and Superior Invisibility.

_________________
Image


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:48 pm
  

User avatar
Wanderer

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:33 pm
Posts: 98
Thanks. Maybe now that RUE is on sale, I should buy a newer printing.

_________________
"First comes smiles, then lies. Last is gunfire."
-Roland Deschain, of Gilead The Dark Tower


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:53 pm
  

User avatar
Champion

Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 8:42 pm
Posts: 2186
Location: The Accordlands
Mine is 3rd Printing if that info helps.

_________________
Image


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 12:10 pm
  

User avatar
Republican

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 10:34 pm
Posts: 1483
Location: Sacramento, CA
Comment: We are the hope for the future and we will not fail in that duty.
Marcethus wrote:
PG 203 RUE Under the Spell: Invisibility: Simple. Has the Note: Beings that turn invisible as a natural and/or magical ability have Simple Invisibility not Superior, and may be heard, smelled, register on motion detectors, etc. Aggressive action (including combat) will not terminate an Invisibility: Simple spell. Characters who can see the invisible see both Simple and Superior Invisibility.


That's how I've always done it. :ok:

Thanks for all the responses!

_________________
"He who commands the kitchen commands the ship." -C. Magewind, Ley Line Rifter and self proclaimed "Best Cook in the Three Galaxies"

"The question is not why the mechanoids kill the humanoids, but only why nobody did it sooner." -Killer Cyborg


          Top  
 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group