Board index » SDC Worlds » Ninjas & Superspies™ & Mystic China™

 


Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
 Post subject: Multiple H2H question
Unread postPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2021 11:31 am
  

D-Bee

Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2021 11:15 am
Posts: 2
Hey I have a player that believes that if you have multiple H2H you can switch between them and get the addtionally attacks of all. So if you have two or thrid H2H you end up with 15+ attacks around. I believe that you used up some many actions in a round they should be removed from the H2H. Ie your highest has 7 attacks, but you are in a 5 attack you complete out and switch to the other for 2 more attacks not 7 more? What is the Cannon rules for this?


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 1:59 pm
  

User avatar
Dungeon Crawler

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 9:09 am
Posts: 371
midharana35 wrote:
Hey I have a player that believes that if you have multiple H2H you can switch between them and get the addtionally attacks of all. So if you have two or thrid H2H you end up with 15+ attacks around. I believe that you used up some many actions in a round they should be removed from the H2H. Ie your highest has 7 attacks, but you are in a 5 attack you complete out and switch to the other for 2 more attacks not 7 more? What is the Cannon rules for this?

You get the number of attacks for the H2H form you are currently using. Multiple H2H forms *do not* stack, except for one pair in N&SS(R). I'm AFB right now, so I can't tell you what those two are. Iffen I recall correctly, one's exclusive and begins with an H, and the other is a weapon-focused form.

Also, I don't remember how often you can switch forms. It might be per action or per round. I do know you aren't limited to one form for the whole fight. (Unless you only have one form, of course.)


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 2:15 pm
  

User avatar
Demon Lord Extraordinaire

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 3:28 pm
Posts: 6571
Location: Apocrypha
Comment: You probably think this comment is about you, don't you?
You can't switch forms in the middle of a round. When you pick a form at the beginning of a round you're stuck with it until the next initiative roll. Also AFAIK, there's only two MA forms that are allowed to be combined anyway; Moo Gi Gong and Hwrang-do (or however it's spelled) should be the two forms (I'm not sure on the spellings).


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2021 10:49 pm
  

User avatar
Monk

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 16733
Location: Eastvale, calif
There are no h2hs in the N&S game. There are only Martal Arts Forms.
So techinly speaking; leaving out the RC books (even thou these are more like 1/2 parts of MAFs); No char can have more than one H2H within the PA gaming system. Therefore, the presumption is false.

Only Dedicated HAs can have more than one MAF. Even then The Beast is correct that MAFs can only be switch between the conclusion of one Melee Round and the beginning of the next Melee Round. And about the only two MAF that can be used together.

_________________
Q's on this board need canon answers first for the question that was asked. Then you can post your own opinions or house rules, they need to be listed/declareds as your own opinions or house rules.

Crimson
Eleven
Delight
Petracor

I don't respond to people I've blocked, unless they are quoted.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2021 2:44 am
  

User avatar
Palladin

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:40 pm
Posts: 9495
Comment: Palladium Books Canon is set solely by Kevin Siembieda, either in person, or by his approval of published material.
drewkitty ~..~ wrote:
There are no h2hs in the N&S game. There are only Martal Arts Forms.
So techinly speaking; leaving out the RC books (even thou these are more like 1/2 parts of MAFs); No char can have more than one H2H within the PA gaming system. Therefore, the presumption is false.

The Nei Chia Wu Shih on page 49 of China 2 would beg to differ, as they start with two hand to hand skills.

drewkitty ~..~ wrote:
Only Dedicated HAs can have more than one MAF. Even then The Beast is correct that MAFs can only be switch between the conclusion of one Melee Round and the beginning of the next Melee Round. And about the only two MAF that can be used together.



Besides the conversion book process which brings those classes that have multiple into Rifts there is the simple multi-class option that provides you with the old H2H and the new H2H.
Regardless of how you gain them though it doesn't matter if you have 1 H2H or all 80 of them.
You can only use one at a time, and
The only benefits are that one art.
And you must pick at the start of each round which one you are using.

_________________
The rules are not a bludgeon with which to hammer a character into a game. They are a guide to how a group of friends can get together to weave a collective story that entertains everyone involved. We forget that at our peril.

Edmund Burke wrote:
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2021 1:57 pm
  

User avatar
Dungeon Crawler

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 9:09 am
Posts: 371
P37 lists Hand to Hand: Basic as a Secondary skill. There is nothing preventing a character from choosing it for a Secondary Skill, if they have the slots. It won't stack with any martial art form, but it's there.

H2H forms are also available through the Basic Physical Skill Program. You can't trade a Martial Art Power for it, but some OCCs have the skill program open.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2021 11:53 pm
  

User avatar
Monk

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 16733
Location: Eastvale, calif
eliakon wrote:
drewkitty ~..~ wrote:
There are no h2hs in the N&S game. There are only Martal Arts Forms.
So techinly speaking; leaving out the RC books (even thou these are more like 1/2 parts of MAFs); No char can have more than one H2H within the PA gaming system. Therefore, the presumption is false.

The Nei Chia Wu Shih on page 49 of China 2 would beg to differ, as they start with two hand to hand skills.

I did say leaving out the RC books, when making my statement.

eliakon wrote:
drewkitty ~..~ wrote:
Only Dedicated HAs can have more than one MAF. Even then The Beast is correct that MAFs can only be switch between the conclusion of one Melee Round and the beginning of the next Melee Round. And about the only two MAF that can be used together.



Besides the conversion book process which brings those classes that have multiple into Rifts there is the simple multi-class option that provides you with the old H2H and the new H2H.
Regardless of how you gain them though it doesn't matter if you have 1 H2H or all 80 of them.
You can only use one at a time, and
The only benefits are that one art.
And you must pick at the start of each round which one you are using.


As I noted, that I was talking about MAFs so this statement was talking about the N&S rules. So bringing a loophole in the rifts rules here into the N&S forum is a bit irrelevant. Since it would confuse what newbs out there that read this.
⁍Even so, if the new h2h is a higher grade than the old one, then the new one replaces the old one. As per official Q&As.

_________________
Q's on this board need canon answers first for the question that was asked. Then you can post your own opinions or house rules, they need to be listed/declareds as your own opinions or house rules.

Crimson
Eleven
Delight
Petracor

I don't respond to people I've blocked, unless they are quoted.


          Top  
 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group