Board index » MDC Worlds » Robotech RPG Tactics™ » Robotech RPG Tactics™ - Rules Discussion

 


Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
 Post subject: Zentraedi Veterans
Unread postPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 10:06 am
  

D-Bee

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 9:19 pm
Posts: 1
How does the Zentraedi Veteran ability work when there are artillery pods in the same squad? The artillery squad and the artillery add-ons don't seem to have the option to buy them as veterans as the normal regult squads and add-ons do. Is this just an oversight, and should their be a cost in upgrading the artillery members of a squad to vets?


          Top  
 
 Post subject: Re: Zentraedi Veterans
Unread postPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 11:32 am
  

User avatar
Megaversal® Ambassador Coordinator

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 9:00 am
Posts: 413
Location: Chesterton, IN
Comment: Pirate Wisdom:
Rum is a journey, and a destination.
Nope...no option to be Vets for the arty pods. They got enough hurt as it is.

_________________
Image
I'll still enjoy watching you get blown off the table while you stare in helpless wonder at Phaze's marching legions of colored perfection. -- Godsgopher


          Top  
 
 Post subject: Re: Zentraedi Veterans
Unread postPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 1:47 pm
  

User avatar
Megaversal® Ambassador

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:51 pm
Posts: 58
And to clarify The points cost on any force card to upgrade to veteran. Only applies to the units on that force card, Not anything attached. I'm sure you've already figured that out but it bears repeating.

_________________
Why are they using such primative weapons?


          Top  
 
 Post subject: Re: Zentraedi Veterans
Unread postPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:40 pm
  

D-Bee

Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:45 am
Posts: 49
"Only applies to the units on that force card, Not anything attached. I'm sure you've already figured that out but it bears repeating."

I thought there was another thread on this that said you MUST upgrade a standard Regult squad if attached to a Squadron that had been upgraded? Maybe I misread that, but I thought that was the ruling.


          Top  
 
 Post subject: Re: Zentraedi Veterans
Unread postPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 3:04 pm
  

User avatar
Megaversal® Ambassador Coordinator

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 9:00 am
Posts: 413
Location: Chesterton, IN
Comment: Pirate Wisdom:
Rum is a journey, and a destination.
PATACK wrote:
"Only applies to the units on that force card, Not anything attached. I'm sure you've already figured that out but it bears repeating."

I thought there was another thread on this that said you MUST upgrade a standard Regult squad if attached to a Squadron that had been upgraded? Maybe I misread that, but I thought that was the ruling.



Yes, if the option card has the same upgrade as the core card (say veteran for the attrition core squad and veteran for a 6 battlepod option), then you must pay for the upgrade for both cards. If the option card doesn't have the same upgrade (Veteran for the attrition core squad, an an arty option card that does not have the veteran option) then you can only upgrade the core card. The option card (in this case the arty pods) would not have the benefit of 'veteran' status.

clear?

_________________
Image
I'll still enjoy watching you get blown off the table while you stare in helpless wonder at Phaze's marching legions of colored perfection. -- Godsgopher


          Top  
 
 Post subject: Re: Zentraedi Veterans
Unread postPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 9:00 am
  

D-Bee

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:10 pm
Posts: 18
Quick add-on question: As veteran status changes the gunnery skill of a pod, does that also change the number allowed or needed to be in formation. At Gun/1 they just need two pods, but with veterans Gun/2, it would need a minimum of 3 pods?


          Top  
 
 Post subject: Re: Zentraedi Veterans
Unread postPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 9:20 pm
  

D-Bee

Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:46 am
Posts: 19
tdumontelle wrote:
Quick add-on question: As veteran status changes the gunnery skill of a pod, does that also change the number allowed or needed to be in formation. At Gun/1 they just need two pods, but with veterans Gun/2, it would need a minimum of 3 pods?


they would need 3 pods to claim the +1 gunnery bonus, but could still be in close formation with just 2.


          Top  
 
 Post subject: Re: Zentraedi Veterans
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 12:00 am
  

User avatar
Megaversal® Ambassador Coordinator

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 9:00 am
Posts: 413
Location: Chesterton, IN
Comment: Pirate Wisdom:
Rum is a journey, and a destination.
warmaster21 wrote:
tdumontelle wrote:
Quick add-on question: As veteran status changes the gunnery skill of a pod, does that also change the number allowed or needed to be in formation. At Gun/1 they just need two pods, but with veterans Gun/2, it would need a minimum of 3 pods?


they would need 3 pods to claim the +1 gunnery bonus, but could still be in close formation with just 2.


Ok, I see the logic in the statement...but just to clarify: Yes, you would need three pods to gain the +1 to attack per close formation with vet pods 2 gunnery. But two pods would could still be in close formation to evenly spread the damage if they were 2 inches away from each other.

_________________
Image
I'll still enjoy watching you get blown off the table while you stare in helpless wonder at Phaze's marching legions of colored perfection. -- Godsgopher


          Top  
 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group